Tutorial to Smokey Eyes for beginners

Smokey eyes are an artful delight but can be tricky to get right. However, with a little bit of practice, you will be on your way to creating the sexiest smokey eyes. Edgy, glamorous and a tad rebellious, the smokey eye look has always been one of the most popular tricks for women.

Back in the days when the movies were all black and white, black smokey eyes were the best choice to get the right contrast with the light color of the skin. Even though makeup has evolved, the smokey eye look has always remained a classic and preferred choice for daring women.

It is that make-up that never goes out of style and you can wear it in both winter and summer for a special evening. When blended lightly, it is also suitable for daytime makeup. Coming in a range of styles and intensity, smokey eyes are suitable for everyone as it looks great on all skin tones, from light to dark skin.

the-art-of-smokey-eyes-for-beginners-easy-step-by-step-tutorial

Dimma Umeh | Credit: dimmaumeh.com

There are several ways to create smokey eyes. You can decide whether to use only an eye pencil and a brush, use black eyeshadow as well or a combination of other colors of eye shadow with black.

A fundamental step is to prepare the eyes by applying a good primer to avoid creasing. Another important thing to remember is that blending is your friend. It is the one procedure that separates a bad smoky eye look from a great one. Having the right brushes makes blending easier. But the only way to master this sultry look is to practice, practice, practice!

Even though there are so many ways to wear the look, we’re focusing on the classic smokey eyes in this piece. A look like this is perfect for any evening event. Remember to keep you lips muted so they don’t compete with your eyes. However, you can wear bold lipstick if your outfit is minimalistic and on the plain side.

Ready to get this sexy and seductive look?

Watch this easy step by step tutorial to smokey eyes for beginners…

A written guide for achieving the smokey eye look

You Will Need

Primer Concealer
Black Eyeshadow
Black liner
Mascara
Eyeshadow brushes

How To Apply Black Smokey Eye Makeup

Step 1: Start with a clean base and apply a primer which allows the makeup to stay longer and makes it easier to blend the eyeshadow. You can use a concealer under the eyes and on the eyelids to even out any discoloration.

Step 2: Apply black eyeshadow to the outer corner of your eyes and into the crease.

Step 3: Blend out the eyeshadow to even it out and get rid of any harsh lines.

Step 4: If you feel that it needs more intensity you can apply more eye shadow.

Step 5: Apply a gel or pencil liner as close as you can to your lashline.

Step 6: Smudge it out and blend it with the black eye shadow you already applied.

Step 7: For an intense look, you can extend the eyeliner into the crease and deepen it. Be sure to blend it out properly.

Step 8: Apply the liner under your eyes.

Step 9: Smudge it out to intensify the smokey look.

Step 10: Clean any lose eye shadow or imperfections and apply a volumizing mascara and/or faux lashes.

Check out 19 more looks to inspire you…

the-art-of-smokey-eyes-for-beginners-easy-step-by-step-tutorial

Jennifer Lopez | Credit: Instagram/@Jlo.

the-art-of-smokey-eyes-for-beginners-easy-step-by-step-tutorial

Zainab Balogun | Credit: Instagram/@zainabbalogun

Naomi Campbell | Credit: Rex Features

the-art-of-smokey-eyes-for-beginners-easy-step-by-step-tutorial

Vanessa Gyimah | Credit: Instagram/@vanessa_gyimah

Sophie Turner makeup

Sophie Turner | Credit: Instagram/@

the-art-of-smokey-eyes-for-beginners-easy-step-by-step-tutorial

Bolanle Olukanni | Credit: Rex Features

faux-loc-hairstyle-on-smokey-eye-look-style-rave

Ava Duvernay | Credit: Rex Features

smokey-blue-eye-look-style-rave

Teaira Walker | Credit: Instagram/@teairawalker

blue-smokey-eye-look-style-rave

Winnie Harlow | Credit: Rex Features

Deepika Padukone | Credit: Instagram/@deepikapadukone

Jackie aina makeup look 2020

Jackie Aina | Credit: YouTube

the-art-of-smokey-eyes-for-beginners-easy-step-by-step-tutorial

Tiarra Monet | Credit: Instagram/@tiarramonet

the-art-of-smokey-eyes-for-beginners-easy-step-by-step-tutorial

Ronke Raji | Credit: Instagram/@ronkeraji.

the-art-of-smokey-eyes-for-beginners-easy-step-by-step-tutorial

Lily Collins | Credit: Rex Features

Maria borges

Maria Borges | Credit: Rex Features

the-art-of-smokey-eyes-for-beginners-easy-step-by-step-tutorial

Lottie Moss | Credit: Rex Features

Alessandra Ambrosio

Alessandra Ambrosio | Credit: Rex Features

Pearl Thusi | Credit: Instagram/@pearlthusi

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *