Sun. Feb 17th, 2019

The 2019 Canadian Screen Awards Nominees Have Been Announced



Each 12 months, the Canadian Screen Awards (CSA) commemorate the easiest of Canadian movie and tv. The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television has introduced the 2019 nominees. The coming-of-age drama, Anne With An E, and hysterical comedy, Schitt’s Creek, are within the lead, each having gathered a complete of 15 nominations. Since they’re each distributed by Netflix, they’re not simply gaining hype in Canada, but in addition throughout the globe.

Some different note-worthy nominations embody the local weather change documentary, Anthropocene, for Best Feature-Length Documentary, which was crafted by Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier and Edward Burtynsky. The movie uncovers the extreme impression that people have had on the planet.

Jazmin Mozaffari is up for Best Director for her drama, Firecrackers, which was produced with a predominantly feminine forged. The movie originates from a brief that she produced as her thesis whereas attending Ryerson University. It stars award-winning actress, Michaela Kurminsky and Karena Evans, who is thought for steering Drake’s music movies for chart-toppers God’s Plan, Nice For What and In My Feelings.

Sara Mishara managed to get two nominations in a single class for Achievement in Cinematography for her work on cinematography on the unsettling thriller, Allure, which stars Evan Rachel Wood and the French and English language drama, The Great Darkened Days, which can also be nominated for Best Motion Picture.

The characteristic movie, The Hummingbird Project, which stars Salma Hayek, Jesse Eisenberg and Alexander Skarsgard additionally racked in just a few nominations. Emmanuel Fréchette is up for Achievement in Art Direction/Production Design, Arthur Tarnowski and Nicolas Chaudeurge are up for Achievement in Editing, and Yves Gourmet is nominated for Achievement in Music – Original Score.

The Indo-Canadian director Deepha Mehta, whose movies have acquired quite a few nominations and awards, together with an Oscar-nomination for her movie, Water, will obtain the Lifetime Achievement Award. She is famend for her inventive storytelling and punctiliously crafted work, by which she relentlessly pushes boundaries. Stephen James will obtain the Radius Award for making waves globally. He has gained the 2017 CSA award for Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role and was a 2019 Golden Globe nominee for his efficiency in Homecoming.

Here are the nominees:


Best Motion Picture

Family First
A Colony
The Great Darkened Days
Just a Breath Away

Achievement in Art Direction/Production Design

Marie-Claude Gosselin
Patricia McNeil
Inigo Navarro
Elisa Sauve
Emmanuel Fréchette

Achievement in Cinematography

Sara Mishara
Ian Lagarde
Sara Mishara
Paul Sarossy
Daniel Grant

Achievement in Direction

Sophie Dupuis
Jasmin Mozaffari
Genevieve Dulude-De-Celles
Maxime Giroux
Daniel Roby

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Theodore Pellerin
Michael Rowe
Paul Nutarariaq
Martin Dubreuil
Brandon Oakes

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Richard Clarkin
Paul Doucet
Jacob Whiteduck-Lavoie
Paul Ahmarani
Michel Robin

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Bridgette Poupart
Emelie Bierre
Carla Turcotte
Valeria Henríquez
Rose-Marie Perreault

Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Anna Lambe
Irlande Cote
Sarah Gadon
Romane Denis
Kate Moyer


Best Drama Series

Frankie Drake Mysteries
Bad Blood
Anne with an E
Blood and Water

Best Comedy Series

Schitt’s Creek
Working’ Moms
Second Jen
Mr. D

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series

Master Chef Canada
The Amazing Race Canada
Big Brother Canada
Knock Knock Ghost
Canada’s Smartest Person Junior

Best Direction, Drama Series

Jeff Woolnough
Peter Settings
Norma Bailey
Daniel Grou
Helen Shaver

Best Direction, Comedy

Daniel Levy, Andrew Cividino
Sturla Gunnarsson
Catherine Reitman
Jacob Tierney
Tracey Deer

Best Lead Actress, Drama Series

Melanie Scrofano
Kristin Kreuk
Caroline Dhavernas
Wendy Crewson
Amybeth McNulty

Best Lead Actor, Drama Series

Jerry O’Connell
Yannick Bisson
Eric McCormack
Kim Coates
Aaron Ashmore

Special Awards

Deepa Mehta
Stephan James
Mary Walsh
Kids In The Hall
Elizabeth Klinck
Kevin Tierney
Roman Bittman
Carole Vivier
Brad Wright

For the total listing of nominees, head to



Please follow and like us: