Hudson Mohawke’s New Album “Cry Sugar” Is Now Available

Hudson Mohawke, who is shamefully underappreciated, has released his third studio album, Cry Sugar, on Friday. Normally, we try to share news of a major release the day it comes out, but this album is so deep and unusual that we needed the weekend (plus another day) to completely absorb it.

The new album includes previously released hits “Bicstan,” “Stump,” and “Dance Forever.” Cry Sugar expands on his pattern of making encouraging music for clubgoers, boosting the hedonism and inspiring many with his own brand of anthemic maximalism. HudMo’s production attractiveness stems in part from the way he puts so much effort into each track, whether it’s the mystical notes of “Stump,” the grandiose, M83-esque “Lonely Days,” or the insane and wild “3 Sheets To The Wind.”

Mohawke alludes to an athletic capacity to rage long into the next decade amid the sound of MRI machines and twisted triumphant yells. As a consequence, a production style capable of combining elements of jazz fusion, prog rock, joyful hardcore, chiptune, and more with formal educations in rave, hip-hop, soul, IDM, and glitch has emerged. The Hudson Mohawke sound incorporates the vast and deep subtlety of all of these genres and more.

“Cry Sugar serves as Hudson Mohawke’s first piece profoundly impacted by apocalyptic cinema scores and soundtracks by everyone from the late Vangelis to the ridiculous major-chord grandeur of 90s John Williams,” according to the album’s press release. Gut-wrenching sights develop when partygoers return home post-club amidst rising sea levels, bomb cyclones, and flickering flames, particularly on tracks like ‘Stump.’ Cry Sugar also serves as Mohawke’s own insane soundtrack to our cultural catastrophe. As the artwork for the CD (by Wayne horse Willehad Eilers) illustrates, “we are arm-in-arm with the Ghostbusters marshmallow guy, going home while swinging a bottle of Jack just to stare out over the gray tempest of an impending calamity.”

Listen to Hudson Mohawke’s Cry Sugar, a diverse 19-track album, below.

Photo by Jonnie Chambers